Photo of the Day : : Sad End

This image best viewed large : : click on the photo for a larger version.

Korinek Photography | Sad End : : Little Penguin : : Bruny Island : : Tasmania, Australia

Sad End
Bruny Island : : Tasmania, Australia

I was walking across the beach towards the famous Penguin Rookery on Bruny Island when I came across this sad image. I was head there to photograph live Little Penguins as they came into shore.

The time that they return to land is so late that it is too dark to take photos, and I know that flash photography with nocturnal creatures can cause big issues.

So this is the only photo of an actual penguin I got during the course of the trip… not quite what I was aiming for, but evocative none-the-less.

This photograph is available for purchase as a print.

1/320 sec at f2.8, ISO 200

All images Copyright 2012 – Matt Korinek : : Korinek Photography
Images cannot be used without explicit permission from Korinek Photography – All rights reserved

6 Comments on “Photo of the Day : : Sad End”

  1. kevinc22 says:

    OH NO! This image is heartbreaking. But still a good photo!
    Kevin Chen

    • Matt Korinek says:

      It is definitely heartbreaking Kevin, even more so when it is right in front of you. I wasn’t sure if I was going to take a photo, but then I decided that photos don’t always have to be happy, so I went for it. Thanks for your comment.

  2. vera says:

    Yes. Nature is beautiful and cruel…

  3. ckponderings says:

    It seems odd to like this image, but I really do. It’s better than if the shot had been taken from the other side, with the bird looking towards the camera; at least like this it looks as if it’s just playing in the sand!


Share your thoughts here

