Rail to nowhere

The Vivonne Bay jetty is different than most I’ve seen.

No its not just the beautiful blue water and picturesque bay. It is the fact that it has rail tracks on it.
I’m guessing it has something to do with helping fisherman bring the catch from their boats into land? Anyone else know?
VB Jetty | Korinek Photography

VB Jetty | Vivonne Bay

KP1603 | Edition of 20

Display Options:
Kodak Supra Endura Paper | Lustre
Kodak Endura Metallic Paper | Glossy
Fuji Pearl Paper | Glossy*
Aluminum Metal | Glossy
Aluminum Metal | Sheer*

Sizes: 8×12 | 12×18 | 16×24 | 20×30 | 24×36

Purchase here now!

*these options unavailable online – contact directly to order
photography@koreweb.com

8 Comments on “Rail to nowhere”

  1. I suspect your approach is deliberate but for me the significant anti-clockwise rotation of your presentation is quite disturbing.

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Hi Stephen,

      Yes, it was deliberate. I know that some people do find angled horizons very disturbing. Personally, I find that it either has to be straight on, or noticeably on a diagonal – a slight tilt doesn’t usually work for me.

      In this case I thought the grungyness of the jetty and the way the waves (although not large) were stirring up sediment on either side of the jetty compared to the crystal clear waters and bright blue sky in the distance benefited from this added angle.

      Do you ever use large angles in your photography?

      • :) – nnnyyeno – ish.
        I have the benefit (not!) of being indoctrinated with the camera club scene, where horizons have to be level and uprights have to be vertical – unless super-exaggerated – e.g. converging/diverging lines looking up at a building. Many a judge I’ve heard remark that ‘the water looks as if it’s going run off the print’. ;) tut!
        Of course, it tends to cut down on my artistic expression, but I wouldn’t claim to be an artist (in any shape or form).

      • Matt Korinek says:

        Interesting because I’ve never really gotten into the camera club scene. I definitely understand where they are coming from. I suppose I figure that all of the “photographic rules” are good to know, but don’t actually have to be followed all the time. I think whenever someone says I have to do something a certain way, it’s good to try things that way from time to time to see for yourself. Sometimes you will surprise yourself!

        Often I find that in fast moving situations I like the compositions that don’t necessarily follow any rules, but were made through some serendipitous turn of events. Then when I see that I like it, I can try that kind of composition for other things. Perhaps you’d consider to give it a try and see what your artistic expression is! :)

        I would say that we’re all artists and show this through the way we view the world and how we choose to show it through our images and stories? With that definition you are definitely an artist.

      • If you’ve not get into the camera club scene,, don’t. ;)
        :) Even if I take a shot ‘on the fly’ it will usually end up square (in all senses!) when I come to the digital darkroom side of things.
        Photography by nature is made for people who like to live in neat boxes – the first thing we do is to decide what to include or exclude – not sure whether there can be anything more structured than that. And we are forced by our basic tools to start from a formal format.
        If we discount still life and the like, photography relies on us to see something that already exists, I’m not sure I would call that art – just seeing. My mum could go to an art gallery and just see pictures, but that would make her an artist.
        If we look at still life and the like, then perhaps the art is really in front of the camera. I certainly don’t do still life because I’m crap at imaginative design. But you put a still life in front of me and I’d take a pretty good photo.
        Me – a photographer yes, an artist no. :)

  2. ckponderings says:

    Great image, lovely composition colours, and nice angle! :)

  3. […] There are heaps of photos of the hook and so I chose to forgo photographing it and instead focused on the jagged line that leads to it. I used a long exposure to give the image some movement in both the sky and ocean. Also, as I’m sure Stephen G. Hipperson will notice, the horizon is not straight. I guess that wouldn’t be well looked upon by the “Camera Club Scene“! […]


Share your thoughts here

