Each moment is preciously unique

The photo I’m sharing today was taken about 30 minutes after this one.

Waiting to see what develops can be hugely beneficial for your photography – read on below the image….

Remarkable Sun Fire | Korinek Photography

Remarkable Sun Fire | Flinders Chase National Park

KP1610 | Edition of 20

Display Options:
Kodak Supra Endura Paper | Lustre
Kodak Endura Metallic Paper | Glossy
Fuji Pearl Paper | Glossy*
Aluminum Metal | Glossy
Aluminum Metal | Sheer*

Sizes: 8×12 | 12×18 | 16×24 | 20×30 | 24×36

Purchase you limited edition print here.

*these options unavailable online – contact directly to order
photography@koreweb.com

If you compare my last post to this one, you’ll notice some similarities and some differences.

What’s the same?

The large rock on the right is a key part of the frame in both images. This huge rock begged to be a major aspect of my composition during this sunrise on March 25, 2012. The direction is generally the same – as I wanted to shoot into the sun. I had to use a tripod because of the long shutter speeds (which I wanted to add movement to the clouds). That’s where the similarities end.

What’s so different?

So much that it is hard to know where to start! The biggest difference is time.  The 40 minutes between capturing the two photos results in the following:

  • Out of the blue – In the first photo, the sun is still far enough below the horizon that I got a bit of the “blue hour” effect in the sky. In this photo the light is brighter and washes out the blue colour. Of course the colour blue adds a different feel to the photo.
  • Vibrant reds – the first colours during sunrise can be different than those that show up later. In this case, it started with pastels of pink and yellow and then turned into the bright orange and reds seen above.
  • Ambient is key – As the sun rises, the quantity of ambient light increases. This means I have to use a smaller aperture (f11 vs f5.6) to keep my exposure time high. It also meant that my headlamp couldn’t provide enough additional light to be useful in light painting. In this case I had to bring up the shadows in post processing.
  • Look to the sky – My all time favourite “difference” lies in the clouds. I generally get excited when I see clouds in the sky when I’m shooting. A wisp will do, but the more the merrier I usually say! Take any iconic location on a blue bird day and you have a ingredients for an average photo. That’s not to say you can’t make a great meal when the sky is blue, but it takes an excellent chef to make something innovative. Clouds on the other hand are ingredients that are in constant flux and therefore provide an infinite variety of exquisite meals. I could go on and on about this, but I don’t want to overdo this metaphor!
So what?

Wait and watch. Think you got the best shot? Perhaps waiting an extra 30 minutes to an hour things will develop into something completely different – maybe even better. So have a bit of patience and see where it takes you.

Do you have nay examples of photos you’ve taken that were a product of your patience? If you do, please share a link in the comments! Thanks everyone!

7 Comments on “Each moment is preciously unique”

  1. I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger and the One Lovely Blog Award.
    Please see the link below if you wish to accept:
    http://strassenfotojournal.com/2012/12/11/thank-you-for-the-awards

  2. vera says:

    A very precise explanation. And not until I went to your gallery and looked at the two pictures “side-by-side” could I really see how different they are! You are right about the clouds adding a new feel, I DO love the blues in the previous shot.

  3. […] Each moment is preciously unique → […]

  4. JimR says:

    Amazing rock formations Matt. Well captured.


Share your thoughts here

