Galactic Jetty | Light Painting vs Photoshop

I initially posted this photo on my Facebook page because I was so stoked about how it came out.

Generally I’ll wait until a complete collection comes together, but I just couldn’t this time. I did hold off on launching it on this blog however and I can’t think of a better way to complete this series of posts. This is the final photo to be released as part of my Kangaroo Island 2012 Collection that started here.

Lightpaining vs Photoshop

Most people would assume that this effect was photoshopped. It wasn’t. In fact I set up my camera on the tripod, hot the shutter release and then ran down the shoreline in order to lightpaint the jetty with my headlamp (torch for all the Aussies and POMs reading this). It was a delicate balance of lightpainiting enough to have the old jetty stand out without it being too bright or too dark. Perhaps this can be achieved with photoshop, but I’m not expert and wouldn’t even know where to start.

Next up I’ll share the entire collection as a complete post just like I did for my Tasmania Collection 2012.

Here’s that last image, hope you like it!

Galactic Jetty | Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia | Korinek Photography

Galactic Jetty | Kingscote

KP1628 | Edition of 20

Display Options:
Kodak Supra Endura Paper | Lustre
Kodak Endura Metallic Paper | Glossy
Fuji Pearl Paper | Glossy*
Aluminum Metal | Glossy
Aluminum Metal | Sheer*

Sizes: 8×12 | 12×18 | 16×24 | 20×30 | 24×36

*these options unavailable online – contact directly to order
photography@koreweb.com

 

3 Comments on “Galactic Jetty | Light Painting vs Photoshop”

  1. vera says:

    I love it….


Share your thoughts here

