get “likes” more easily – wordpress tip

pro tip | Photo Proventure | Korinek PhotographyGenerally I view Google as the best place to have all my questions answered.

In this case, searching for “share this like this wordpress”, “like this on wordpress” and “like on main page wordpress” came up with a number of results on how to get more likes on wordpress. Not what I was looking for. Google failed me…

What I wanted to know was how to add this to the bottom of my posts when looking at full blog (not just each specific post). So I wanted what you see below to show up under each post when you scroll down on www.photoproventure.com just like you see on Two Loves Studio blog.

Share This Like This Bar

The reason I wanted this, was so that people don’t have to go into a post in order to “like” it. When I’m perusing blogs, I find that if I have to click into a full post in order to “like” it, I don’t always do it. So I thought I can’t be the only one, and I’d like to make it as easy as possible for people to like my stuff! Whether or not this will increase the number of like I get remains to be seen, but I do know that it will make it easier for people to like a post/image.

How to add Share This: & Like This: to you main blog page:

It actually took me a while to figure out (I did some testing on one of my now defunct blogs) and if you want to add this functionality to your own blog, here’s how:

  1. Go into your “Dashboard”
  2. Hover over “Settings” and click on “Sharing”
  3. Under the “Show Buttons on” section make sure that “Front Page, Archive Pages, and Search Results” is checked
  4. Save your settings

It should look like this:

Show Buttons OptionsThat’s it! I’d love to know if this helped you in any way (some of you may have already known about this).

2 Comments on “get “likes” more easily – wordpress tip”

  1. themofman says:

    It’s working. Thanks, Matt.


Share your thoughts here

